In IPL 2024, one of the most exciting seasons came to an end, and the trophy went to the hands of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). Again, in the M. A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, they produced a sensational show by winning the match against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by eight wickets and thus being placed in the third list of IPL history.

Stellar Bowling Performance Sets the Stage for Victory

KKR’s bowlers just rose to the occasion for the team right from the beginning and tore through the SRH batting order. 

Mitchell Starc, the most expensive buy at the auction, justified the tag that came along with him and led the bowling attack, showcasing a fiery spell. His scalps in the match were two big fishes in the power play, and this reduced SRH to 28/3. 

Pat Cummins and Sunil Narine bowled well; both took two wickets and checked any surge by SRH. The SCA batsmen were under early pressure in the crucial final, and even the set batsmen failed to do well. 

Third IPL Title

However, Nicholas Pooran tried to give some sort of fight with a valuable 34, but the rest of the batsmen fell like a pack of cards to KKR’s bowling lineup. The bowling arsenal came into force well to contain SRH to a par score of 113 runs for the loss of 19 wickets in the given 20 overs.

KKR Batsmen Cruise to Victory with Composed Performance

Forcing a simplified chase, KKR openers Venkatesh Iyer and Shubman Gill showed a lot of intent. They put up a good 78 runs for the second wicket, which paved the way for a relatively easy target run chase.

Iyer, the highest tournament of the tournament Till now, played a solid knock of 42 off 31, being very aggressive with his shots. At the same time, Gill brought order in the tough constructed 38. 

The partnership put KKR in a comfortable position to reach the target, as they needed 35 runs in the remaining overs. Paceman Sam batted well to remain unbeaten on 27 and lead his side to a decent total after the first two openers were dismissed.

Sunil Narine Bags Second Player of the Tournament Award

Sunil Narine of KKR in the ‘Knockout’ phase was predictable again, with a wonderful bowling effect all through the season, and thus was awarded the Player of the Tournament. His economical bowling and power to take wickets at the right time helped KKR a lot in the tournament. 

Putting a rather impressive end to the tournament, he was able to secure 18 more wickets for his team, which strengthened the belief of viewers about him being a top-notch all-rounder in the history of IPL. The finalized show-stealing bowling display in the final deserved a Player of the Match award for Mitchell Starc.

KKR’s Title Triumph Marks a Memorable Season

This shower of success can undoubtedly be crowned as one of the most successful KKRs by Kolkata Knight Riders, who were already champions in the 2012 and 2014 IPL seasons. 

Therefore, the achievement is a reflection of effective team management with successful planning strategies and obedience from players for the entire management’s energy put in by Shreyas Iplayers’katesh Iyer and Sunil Narine has made KKR fans a happy lot. 

Without a doubt, the franchise would want to consolidate on this achievement and stay true to its role of champion of IPL in the future.